

Dozens of kids received 4-H awards during the annual ceremony on Sunday, May 6. Congratulations, 4-H'ers!

Honors...continued from Page 1A

the state begins in fourth grade," said Union County 4-H Coordinator Timothy Jennings. "And so, students in the classroom are part of the 4-H program all the way through sixth grade because it's required - it's part of the curriculum at school.

From seventh grade through 12th grade, 4-H participation is by choice, said Jennings. When students graduate to seventh grade, they can then choose either to continue with 4-H, join the Future Farmers of America or pursue other endeavors.

The children and young adults involved in 4-H learn through both cooperation and competition. They learn that in order to be the best, one has to know the most and try the

They also learn that different people have different talents, and that those individual talents, developed to their fullest, best contribute to the success of the group to become the basis for positive, lifelong relationships.

For many Union County students, their choice to participate and compete in 4-H has paid off in spades, as was evidenced by the numerous recognitions and awards handed out that Sunday. The looks of pride and exhilaration on both the parents and their kids' faces were inspiring.

Elena Griggs, UCHS senior and 4-H Student Board President, introduced the 2017-2018 Student Board, which included herself, Emily Rittenhouse, Bailey Rayfield, Allie Kumler, Skylar Miller, Jessie Holbrook, Gabriella Jennings, Milo Bauman, Ashley Palmateer and Aliceyn Covington.

One of the highlights of the ceremony was the induction of the new 4-H Honor Society Members.

There are four levels of Honor Society membership: Bronze, Silver, Gold and

Students move their way through the levels of membership by acquiring points based on participation in leadership, citizenship and public speaking activities, and via competition at the state level or selection as camp

Platinum recipients were Allie Kumler and Emily Rittenhouse

Gold recipients were Jessie Holbrook, Skylar Miller, Ashley Palmateer, Bailey Rayfield and Elena Griggs.

Silver recipients were Milo Bauman, Katie Baxter, Aliceyn Covington, James Levi, Savannah Levi, Laura McGaha, Morgan Peney, Sarah Steele, Demi Thorn and Sierra

Bronze recipients were Nolan Bachman, Amanda Boughnou, Michaela Caldwell, Hayleigh Deitz, Daniel Griggs, Genelle Hill, Abeni Hogshead, Gabriella Jennings, Hope Klouder, Maggie Payne, Parker Scott, Anika Shah, Madison Torres, Olivia Walker, Micana Wooten and Tori Tracy.

Recognition of 4-H graduating seniors was made with the presentation of 4-H green and white graduation cords draped over their

Those 4-H graduating seniors were Elena Griggs, Allie Kumler, Gabriella Jennings, Emily Rittenhouse, Ellen Jinks, Cole Cantrell, Angel Flater and Tara McCann. Gage Sisum and Kaenon Young could not be present to receive their cords.

Junior 4-H District Project Achievement (DPA) Awards – in layman's terms, Public Speaking Project went to middle schoolers Amanda Boughnou, Michaela Caldwell, Alexis Cheshire, Hayleigh Deitz, Genelle Hill, Abeni Hogshead, James Levi, Savannah Levi, Laurie McGaha, Scarlett Murphy, Maggie Payne, Savannah Scholtz, Parker Scott, Madison Torres, Tori Tracy, Olivia Walker and Micana Wooten.

Senior 4-H DPA Awards went to high schoolers Nolan Bachman, Milo Bauman, Katie Baxter, Elizabeth Cecci, Aliceyn Covington, Daniel Griggs, Jessie Holbrook, Hope Klouder, Morgan Peney, Anika Shah, Sarah Steele, Demi Thorn and Sierra Weaver.

Griggs, Skylar Miller, Ashley ateer, Bailey Rayfield and Emily Rittenhouse competed at 4-H State Congress.

Most members of the 4-H Shotgun Teams were unable to attend because they were practicing for an upcoming state competition with Coach Gene Margelli, but they received recognition that evening from Coach Keith Herbert.

Shotgun Team competitors recognized were:

Grayson Blocker, Caleb Bottinelli, Denver Bradley, Cole Cantrell, Peyton Collins, Patrick Colwell, Logan Dillard, Angel Flater, Daniel Griggs, Kanon Hemphill, Braeden Hooper; Kole Jenkins, Travis Kerr, Cooper Lance, James Levi, Jacob McCann, Tara McCann, Jackson Mercer, Samuel Mercer, Thomas Mercer, Hunter Payne, Emily Rankin, Carolyn Sanders, Gage Sisum, Brian Smith, Jeremy Stover, Andrew Walker, Hunter Young and Kaenon Young.

It's worth mentioning that Caleb Bottinelli was the high shooter out of 133 contestants in a recent competition, even though he was unable to stand due to an injured ACL.

Fourth through eighthgrade Archery Team Members recognized by Coach Scott Hughes were Ellen Jinks, Preston Dyer, Emily Rittenhouse, Will Potts, Madison Brown, Lane Lance, Joshua Gore, Leslie Rash, Ansley Hughes, Ivy Chambers and Ava Sharp.

BB Team fourth through eighth-graders recognized by Mike Bottinelli were Kade Dills, Luke Mallett, Luci Talton, Peyton Denham, Tanner McGee, Joshua Ledford and Katelyn Ledford.

Bottinelli said he is a member of SAFE, an acronym for Shooting, Awareness, Fun and Education. He stressed the emphasis placed on the safe handling of the BB guns.

Livestock Team Members were recognized for preparing, feeding, training and caring for their animals. They were Lucy Talton, Sara Talton and Tanner McGee.

Poultry Judging Team Members recognized for judging live birds, egg quality and other categories were Sarah Steele, Skylar Miller, Jessie Holbrook, Katie Baxter and Lindsey Collins.

Cotton Boll and Consumer Judging Competition Additionally, Elena Members were recognized for judging smoothies, toothpaste and backpacks, and producing a one-minute public

announcement about cotton. They were Michaela Caldwell, Alexis Cheshire, Aliceyn Covington, Elena Griggs, Abeni Hogshead, James Levi, Savannah Levi, Laura McGaha, Skylar Miller, Scarlett Murphy, Ashley Palmateer, Maggie Payne, Emily Rittenhouse and Sierra Weaver.

Other volunteer leaders and coaches who were recognized for their selfless contributions were Alicia and Ray Covington, Joanna Griggs, Kim Holbrook, Mike Bottinelli, Chris and Anita McGee, Casey Conley, Gerald Potts, April Miller, Kristy Peney, Julie and Kerry Rittenhouse, Andrew Smith and Victoria Steele.

Union County 4-H Staff Members Katie Rittenhouse and Jammie Murphy, along with 4-H Coordinator Timothy Jennings, were recognized and presented with small gifts by the 4-H Student Board for their contributions to 4-H throughout the year.



Photo by Mark Smith

Union County 4-H Coordinator Timothy Jennings during the Sunday, May 6, annual 4-H awards ceremony.

Union General Hospital celebrated National Nurses Week



Union General Hospital recognize nurses

National Nurses Week is celebrated annually from May 6, also known as National Nurses Day, through May 12, the birthday of Florence Nightingale, the founder of modern nursing. This week is devoted to highlighting the diverse ways in which registered nurses work to improve health care. The theme for National Nurses Week 2018 was "Nurses: Inspire,

Innovate, Influence".

In honor of National Nurses Week, Union General Hospital recognized their nurses in various ways throughout the week.

Union General Hospital is very thankful for each of their nurses and appreciates everything they do for both the hospital and our com-